Dappled art: Renoir

Nude in the Sunlight
Auguste Renoir, Nude in the Sunlight, 1876

My first trip to Paris was brief; I only had enough time for one gallery. (One! in Paris!) I’ve loved Impressionism since I was a child, so I chose the Musee d’Orsay.

I was not actually a huge fan of Renoir before this visit, although I understood his contribution to the Impressionist movement and had been taught to appreciate his handling of light and his rich colour palette. I quickly discovered reproductions do not do him (or anyone, really) justice. I still find much of his work is not to my taste, but this portrait is an exception: luminous, sensual and timeless.

Leave a Reply

