Adventures in make-up: ‘Why, yes, I am wearing make-up!’

doll-1269535_1920Since I started playing with make-up, the most common comment I’ve had from friends and family is ‘You’re wearing make-up!’, uttered in an astonished tone and usually accompanied by a bemused frown.

This is entirely understandable. For years, I’ve eschewed make-up, other than a bit of lipstick on work days. Mascara if I’m feeling up to it.

So, when I say, as nonchalantly as I can, ‘Yes, I am’, the question that usually follows is not unexpected: ‘Is it a special occasion?’. However, I have been surprised by the frequency of quite a different comment: ‘You should wear make-up more often’.

I’m choosing to treat this as a compliment…

 

Other adventures in make-up:
Adventures in make-up: cosmetic equations
Adventures in make-up: the problem with brushes
Adventures in make-up: things I have learned
Adventures in make-up: the mirror dilemma
Adventures in make-up
Leave a Reply

